Skip to main content

Port Orchard, Washington

Frequently Asked Questions

“If you have a legal battle ahead, arm yourself with Warrior Woman Law!”

- George

Port Orchard, Washington

Frequently Asked Questions

“If you have a legal battle ahead, arm yourself with Warrior Woman Law!”

- George

Criminal Defense Questions

What happens if I get arrested for a DUI in Washington?

All it takes is one DUI charge for you to land in jail, pay harsh fines, and face reputational damages that get in the way of your future. The good news is that you don’t have to sit back and accept the charges. With a strong defense attorney by your side, you can come out with your rights intact.

What are the penalties for a first DUI charge in Port Orchard?

First offense DUI penalties include:

  • From one day (24 consecutive hours mandatory minimum) to one year in jail
  • Between $800 and $5,000 in fines
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for a year or more
  • Requirement to take an Alcohol or drug education class
  • Up to five years of probation
  • 90-day license suspension

With each consecutive DUI charge, penalties increase.

Do I have to register as a sex offender in Washington if convicted of a sex crime?

Often times, yes. Depending on the severity of the charges, you may face many years or even a lifetime registered as a sexual predator. Registered sex offenders may be prohibited from living and working in certain areas and must report their residence location to the state. In Washington, sex offender registration is required for juvenile defendants, as well.

Are most violent crime offenses in Washington charged as felonies?

Yes, and these charges can include any of the following:

  • Class A felonies (which include first-degree murder, second-degree murder, child abuse that leads to murder, assault with a deadly weapon, rape, and other sex crimes against minors)
  • 1st degree manslaughter
  • 2nd degree manslaughter
  • Kidnapping
  • Arson
  • Assault
  • Robbery (and armed robbery)
  • Vehicular assault and vehicular homicide

Due to their felony status, most violent crime charges in Washington involve fines up to $20,000 and serious jail time, up to life imprisonment.

What are the two main types of gun charges in Washington?

First-degree unlawful possession of a firearm, which is for people who have been convicted of a serious offense in the past and are no longer allowed to possess a firearm in Washington; and

Second-degree unlawful possession of a firearm, which includes charges for:

  • Minors without special authorization
  • People on bail for a serious offense
  • People who have previously been convicted of a felony (not considered a serious offense)
  • People who have been previously convicted of certain domestic violence acts
  • People subject to a qualifying protective order

What is considered domestic violence in Washington?

Washington law defines domestic violence as when someone commits one of the following acts upon their intimate partner or family/household member:

  • Physical harm
  • Bodily injury
  • Assault
  • Fear of immediate physical harm, bodily injury, or assault
  • Nonconsensual sexual conduct or penetration
  • Coercive control
  • Harassment or stalking

How is assault defined by Washington law?

Generally, assault in Washington is defined as any unwanted physical and offensive contact. Assault can also be the threat of offensive contact and therefore does not need to result in an actual injury for charges to be brought. Assault charges can be classified as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the circumstances of the case.

Personal Injury Questions

What kinds of damages can I recover in a personal injury case?

If you or someone you love has been seriously injured in an accident in Port Orchard, Washington that wasn’t your fault, you may be entitled to compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and other damages. Warrior Woman Law is here to help.

What are the most common types of personal injury cases in Washington?

Some of the most common personal injury cases our team sees include:

  • Motor Vehicle Crashes (including car accidents, truck accidents, commercial / delivery driver truck crashes, bicycle crashes, etc.)
  • Motorcycle Accidents
  • Catastrophic Injuries
  • Slip and Fall Accidents
  • Injuries Involving Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBIs) and Mild TBIs
  • Injuries Involving Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Dog Bites
  • Nursing Home Negligence
  • Sex Abuse

How do I get started on my Washington personal injury case?

  • Gather the contact information of those involved in the incident, as well as the witnesses.
  • Contact any first responders and obtain a copy of the police report and other relevant official documents (witness statements, medical reports, etc.).
  • Document damages: take pictures of the injuries and property damage, quotes for car repairs, etc.
  • Document the evolution of your condition, including ongoing medical treatments and symptoms.
  • Work with a reputable Port Orchard personal injury attorney to speak to insurance companies on your behalf and fight for your rights.

Social Security Disability Questions

What is the approval rate for Social Security Disability claims in Port Orchard, Washington?

The approval rate in Washington is unfortunately low: only around 36% of people who file are accepted. This means that nearly two-thirds of disabled Washington residents are not able to receive the aid that would allow them to live a safer, more secure life. Thankfully, you do have options. Working with a strong team of experienced Social Security Disability lawyers will allow you to push back against an unjust system.

How do I know if I qualify as “disabled” under Social Security law?

As a rule of thumb, you are considered disabled under Social Security law if you’re incapable of performing your previous work due to a physical or mental condition that has lasted at least twelve consecutive months. It also takes into account your age, education, and previous work experience.

Arm Yourself With Warrior Woman Law

At Warrior Woman Law, we consider it to be our personal duty to defend hard-working people from harsh charges and unfair sentences. Whether you’ve been accused of Washington rape charges, child molestation, or any other sex crime, our team is here for you. Contact us today to get started working on your case.